Haiku reflections on Japan

old and new study resources

Kanji and vocab

all in a very cluttered,

ok kind of book.

Well, enjoy would be the wrong word but I am finally getting to like, I suppose, this one textbook that I had at one stage of my academic study of this lovely language.  I didn`t like the book then because it was very badly laid out and cluttered in my opinion.  It was also too advanced for my level of Japanese at the time (study abroad period, only class available used this book) so I was a bit exasperated by it for that reason too.   Now though, having time to look at it properly (no other academic commitments either) it`s not so bad.   I guess because I have caught up to this level.  So, I`ve made peace with this book but I`d be lost without my online dictionaries to help me look up some of the stuff in it (especially the monash.edu one – the best thing since sliced bread!!).  I`m also quite fond of my good old-fashioned concise learner`s kanji dictionary (well, as fond as you can be of a dictionary). I could look up kanji online too but I kind of like the ritual of looking up kanji myself and I`m more likely to pay attention to other compounds of the word.    Because it`s only a concise one, I usually find more on the online dictionaries anyway but it`s a good start and a ritual as I said.  So like Japan itself and its mixture of old and modern cultures, a mix of old and new `learning cultures` is good when learning Japanese (or indeed any language, but say with other languages I have studied, I find that the entries in my dictionaries have pretty much been copied into wordreference.com, to choose one example, so there is definitely a difference between Japanese online and ordinary dictionaries).  I have never had an electronic dictionary ( a `denshi jisho` – 電子辞書) so I don`t know how good they are but if you have constant access to the internet then there`s no real point buying one of those.

Anyone checked out the TIFF mentioned in my last post yet?  Watching films with or without subtitles (more relaxing I must admit with subtitles) is a great way of course to improve your language skills.

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

