Emigrant woes

Yes Japan won`t leave

my mind alone but that`s not

so bad I suppose.

I`ve been looking for accommodation lately in my rather non-descript city, but I look at places and make excuses not to take them.    Well, to be honest, some of the places within my budget are awful so in this case, they`re legitimate reasons and not excuses (I have high standards!!).  I may have to go slightly outside my budget.  It doesn`t have to be huge but it has to feel clean (if you know what I mean) with a clear separation between the kitchen and the bedroom as I don`t like the idea of food smells getting in to my clothes!!

The place I had in Japan was a galley-sized hotel room where the `kitchen` was only a feet from the bed but I liked the place and it was centrally located and so it was fine for the period of time I was there.  However, were I to move to Japan again I would try and get a decent sized place with the afore-mentioned kitchen/bedroom separation!!     Or at least have an apartment with big windows so the food smells could escape quicker.

As I said, I can`t really focus on finding a new abode here.     And it`s not like I want to live anywhere but here.  Though I speak other languages, I don`t have as much a desire to live in the countries they are spoken as much as I do Japan.   And I would have a lot more choice of countries to go to.     Maybe I should just go on a quick holiday to Japan and see when I get there  how I feel and on the way home, stop in a couple of countries where the other languages I speak are spoken!!

That drama I mentioned in the last post set in the west coast of America explored, in a recent episode – yeah they put them up in the end so I just thought I`d keep on watching it, the acting isn`t completely awful and it was cool to see the old homeless sensei from Tampopo in it -, the idea of the old grandfather wanting to return to Japan to live out his final years.  He settled for a holiday in the end.   One of his sons, who considers himself American and not Japanese (more than the other son), also goes on this trip with him for his own reasons but he finds himself being slagged off for not knowing the written language very well and also for considering himself American and not Japanese.   I have met people from Brazil who felt the same way and Japanese Brazilians get this kind of attitude a lot in Japan.  They`re not  considered to be Japanese enough.      This probably happens all around the world – returned emigrants feeling out of place.   On one hand, it`s a shame because all these folks wanted to do was build a good life for themselves elsewhere and nobody should begrudge them that right or make them feel any less (pick nationality).  On the other hand, their romantic image of the `old country` is usually out of sync with what is really going on and you wonder why they do it.  Imagine a Japanese emigrant of the early 20th century returning to Japan in the 1980s with the economic boom, money flying around everywhere along with the obvious consumerism.    They wouldn`t have known what hit them, even if they had been forewarned by reading the news of the boom.

Anyway, obviously I`m not comparing my own feelings to that of an elderly Japanese person but if a country is in your mind all the time then it`s not for no reason.

Regarding neighour-news, it`s more tragic this week.   I`m sorry to hear about the second earthquake in five years in the Sichuan province of western China.    How horrible.   Even more horrible to hear reports that China did not learn much from the last earthquake.     I hope recovery efforts go well.

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

