Quakes and propaganda

Strange post-earthquake tales

not really up to much so

ever more fatigued

 

am I of Murakami.   After the Quake has been out for years but I only read this book of short stories yesterday (yeah a short book mercifully) focusing on people with some kind of connection to Kobe which suffered the colossal devastation of an earthquake back in 1995 (I visited the city and the memorial area at the quays while I was there – very beautiful).    The stories aren`t really up to much and I found myself rolling my eyes at some of the characters and their strange utterances.   I should be used to that in Murakami novels by now but I still found it irritating.

Another book I got out of the library recently was An Artist of the Floating World by Kazuo Ishiguro.     It looks good, examining what happens when art is used for propaganda purposes by Japan during world war II  so looking forward to starting that.   I like Ishiguro, though I found Never Let Me Go a bit wierd and Nocturnes, a collection of short stories just ok.

 

 

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

