I`ll have a Yamazaki please

Actually I

probably won`t as I`m not 

a whisky drinker 

 

Yamazaki Single Malt Whisky from near Kyoto has recently been named the finest whisky in the world, scoring 97.5 out of 100, and described as `thick, dry, round as a snooker ball`.     3 american bourbons came 2nd, 3rd and 4th.  I don`t usually drink whisky though I sometimes might have it hot with lemon if I`ve a cold so I`m hardly a connoisseur but the snooker ball metaphor is apt.   Don`t you think?  It`s probably really expensive this yamazaki whisky.  Japan has a man by the name of Masataka Taketsuru, who set up Yamazaki Distillery back in the 1920s after moving back from Scotland,  to thank, or not,  for introducing whisky to Japan.

Still a whisky or some other strong drink would maybe help me with the book I`m reading at the moment!!  The Sea and Poison by Shusaku Endo, yes another one by himself.   The experiments that the Japanese made on captured allied soldiers, mostly American, during world war II  at a university hospital in Fukuoka among, possibly, other places, and how a man reacts when he finds out his own doctor has been involved with this, is basically what this book deals with.    Before this book, I was reading The House of Sleeping Beauties by Yasunari Kawabata but kind of put it aside.  That`s another strange one.   I might come back to that.  Both books were held for me, along with a little book of Japanese fables, by a bookshop owner friend I know who remembered I have a fondness for Japanese literature.

I definitely need to read something lighter soon, well literature wise. The travel guide I`m having a look at at the moment, along with various guides on-line about moving abroad , is nice but not fully relaxing either as it is part of a mission and not reading for the sake of reading.

 

 

 

 

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

