Haiku reflections on Japan

Setsuko Hara … farewell

Tokyo Story,

Early Summer and Late Spring 

She was always good

 

It has been belatedly reported that Setsuko Hara, star of Tokyo Story among many other early films, and who retired prematurely in the 1960s and became a virtual recluse, has passed away at the age of 95 from pneumonia.  She died on the 5th of September and in typical humble form she said before passing away that she did not want a big deal made out of it.  Wow.   She puts the humble into humble.

The news has finally been released and I read it on-line.  In any case, what a great actress she was.   Stunning as well.  I was wondering what I’d watch tonight so as I’ve seen Tokyo Story and Late Spring I’ll see if I can find Early Summer on line.  If I don’t have any luck, I won’t have any problem whatsoever watching either of the other two again.

RIP

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

