East-West rugby swap

Back to rugby once

again as we see a swap

eastwards-westwards – yosh!

 

I might have mentioned at the end of the rugby world cup that Eddie Jones who coached Japan to such success at that world cup was South Africa bound.  Well, he got out of that contract and has been appointed England coach now (well a good few weeks ago actually but rugby is on my mind at the moment with certain teams I know not doing so well at the moment in European competitions).    The England coach who did such a bad job on the other hand at the same World Cup is Japan-bound to coach Japan.   Masaka!

I’m using one of my favourite Japanese expressions in the haiku above – yosh!! (exclamation marks are mine as it is not necessarily shouted).  People say this when they have decided to get on with doing something they might not have expected having to do or are sometimes not relishing doing something.  I’m sure though that Mr Jones is relishing this challenge.    I’m sure Jones will do a good job but hopefully not too good a job eh? ; -)

‘Masaka’ is another word I like which usually means – ‘no way!’ ‘It can’t be!’ ‘Get lost I don’t believe ye!!’ ‘Get outta here!’

The other guy? Well, I hope he doesn’t destroy Japan hehe.  I think both coaches will be using the ‘yosh’ expression equally.  I don’t know the facts about him and the challenges he faced with the team during the RWC (most of the rugby or team ‘analysis’ after the matches was not that interesting to be honest) but I think I heard a few people say he did not make the best choices in picking his squad or team.  Well, whether that’s right or not it’s up to the players a coach does pick to get on with it and play as they’re supposed to play – as the elite athletes they are.

For the moment, I really can’t think of any more words to add to my Great expressions page.  If you have any readers/followers you’re welcome to suggest one.

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

