The Quiet Room

Stress and bad times lead

this girl to the ‘quiet room’

to sort her head out.

 

‘Welcome to the Quiet Room’ クァイエットルームによこそ (2007) is a film I came across the other evening.   Two of the most well-known actors in it were Yu Aoi and Tsumabaki Satoshi (the latter from Orange Days which I watched and wrote about before, though I didn’t recognise him at first as he had a heavy punk look in this).  Yu Aoi kind of annoys me sometimes with her ‘not quite all there’ vibe but she was actually really good in this despite being even more ‘not quite all there’.  The main actress is Yuki Ueda who I thought I recognised from something but I couldn’t put my finger on where.  She ends up in a psychiatric hospital after an overdose of sleeping pills caused by a very stressful job mixed with guilt over what has become of people in her life.   Her boyfriend is partly responsible for her ending up there too.   He probably belongs in there himself.  The hospital naturally has a mix of ‘personalities’ being the type it is and one particular nurse, who while still no match for Nurse Ratchett, is not too far off.   I won’t say what becomes of  Akusa Sakura (the main character) but it’s a very quirky, enjoyable film.  The quiet room refers to the isolation ward she’s seen in first.   I definitely recommend it.

Also, just by chance after mentioning Keanu Reeves in a previous post (and as Orange Days was also in my head) what else do I find but 47 Ronin which I had not managed to see (I had found it on i-tunes but was reluctant to pay to even rent it given the bad reviews!!).  It wasn’t as bad at all as the reviews say.  I found it quite enjoyable and I’m not just saying that because Hiroyuki Sanada and Tadanobu Asano, both of whom I have lots of time for, are in it (along with Ko Shibasaki from Orange Days – the lead female role opposite the afore-mentioned Satoshi Tsumabaki – and Rinko Kikuchi).   Honest.   Some of it is far-fetched but anywhere you have not just fantasy but also Hollywood versions of a part of any country’s history , well…

One other actor in it playing the Shogun’s right hand man plays the young version of the cruel death camp guard in The Railway Man (the older version is played by Hiroyuki Sanada).  Connecting all these actors in different ways is fun.

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

