Spring cleaning is a

great mind cleanser ahead of

another new year

 

So I haven’t made it to the cinema yet to see Silence but apparently it’s 3 hours long and, much as I like the book it’s based on, which I’ve recently re-read, I don’t know if a 3 hour film about faith is what I’m looking for.  It’s quite a deep topic but 3 hours is almost too much.  Well, I’ll see.

2017 resolutions anyone?   I have started by sticking to a plan to cull more items from my space.  Actually I started before the new year so I wouldn’t change my mind but I finished up yesterday.  So college notes have mostly (bar some interesting items I foresee needing) been sent to the (recycling) bin.  They’re really the only things I was humming and hawing about.   I have some language learning textbooks from my college days and evening language lessons which I’m trying to get rid of. Ones I am truly finished with.

I’ve mentioned Marie Kondo before.  Well, I hadn’t actually seen her book in any shop until just before Christmas.   I’m sure it was there all along.  I just wasn’t looking for it.  And nor was I this time.  It was just because of the holiday season and coming up to the new year that the particular shop had it displayed where people might easily find it for their new year spring clean/cull.   I had a quick flick through it, just so I can say I did. Another book beside it was more specifically related to culling your wardrobe only.  Now that I have a handle on.    I still think Marie Kondo is a bit too anal for my liking and while I agree that some things can bring you ‘joy’ which I suppose she says to make herself sound a bit less clinical, they are still only material objects.  I’m not going to go in to a lecture about that but it is true that experiences are more valuable and are what you remember more.  Ok, reading a good book can be an experience as can watching a great film but for me nothing beats travel, either to somewhere totally new (which I aim to do this year whether or not I also make it back to Japan) or returning to a place you liked.  I was thinking maybe I’d go to a Baltic country this time.  One out of maybe Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania. I hope they’re cheaper than Scandinavia which they face across the Baltic sea.

What are your views on spring clean/culling of unwanted or unnecessary things in your house/apartment or wherever you live? Do you go gung-ho on your place? I don’t like clutter but I hate clinical looking empty living spaces at the same time so a good balance can be achieved by having what you want to keep, after your culling session, at reach in nice storage units is a happy medium I think.

Regarding other resolutions/goals/aims though, mine are mostly people-related.  It sounds harsh but people-culling if you like.  Those who don’t add anything to your life or might be nice (enough) but don’t make any effort.  Or people who just put you down, or try their hardest to, for their own sad reasons.  Unfortunately, for some, these people can originate from their own family so it’s harder to ignore them (but contact can be minimised nonetheless!!).  I managed to achieve this to some degree in 2016 and plan to keep it up.  On the other hand, the stress you have to take from people who don’t react well to being avoided almost cancels it out!  Keeping myself fit and healthy, in terms of mind and body, is another resolution I think I can stick to, which should assist me in all that.

Well, good luck with your new year resolutions whatever they may be. If you’re thinking of travel, and can afford it, go ahead.  Life is too short to worry about threats from certain sources.  As for Japanese learning, stick at it and learn from different sources.  And if you plan to cull then have fun getting rid of your stuff (and then buying more haha…).

 

Standard

Any thoughts? In haiku form or not?

